Helene G. Simon Hillel Center

governing board

The Governing Board works in partnership with the Hillel staff and students to ensure the success and viability of the Helene G. Simon Hillel Center through their dedication, time, and financial resources. Without their support, the daily programs and services that are offered to our students would not be possible.

Michael Mervis


Sharyl Goldberg


David Vonnegut-Gabovitch

vice president

Matthew S. Claymon



Joseph Alpert

Laurence Bolotin

Ronald Brodey

Serane Blatt Dunitz

Emily Frank

Dan Kahn

David Kosene

Judy Laikin

Sandy Schwarz

National Advisory Directors

Hillel's National Advisory Directors are responsible for advocating and promoting the programs of Indiana University Hillel, and Actively represent IU Hillel in their communities at large and across the nation. Enhancing IU Hillel’s public image in Bloomington, in Indiana, and nation-wide, our National Advisory Directors serve on IU Hillel committees that support fundraising, programming, and public relations and communications events, and act as ambassadors for our organization nation-wide.

Shirley Backer

Shari Beirne

Emma Benchell

Ralph Bender

Marc Benezra

Whitney Bond

David Charney

Steve Crell

Elliot Dinkin

Andrea Friedman

Sharon Gerber

Steve Glazier

Missy Hatchett

Adam Herman

Steve Horowitz

Wendy Kaufman

Jim Keller

David  Klapper

Marty Kroot

Dick Leventhal

Sybil Mervis

Gabe Paul

Laura Pedegana

Ryan Pfenninger

David Resnick

Joseph Rodenberg

Michael Schankerman

Debbie Steiman-Cameron

Brett Stern

Carolyn Lipson Walker

Mark Zukerman